VILLAGE HALL AGM @ 7.30pm on 7th March 2024 in the Village Hall

All parishioners are invited to the Village Hall AGM on 7 March at 7.30pm in the Hall. The agenda includes the finance report for 2023, the Chair’s report, the make-up of the committee and election of Chair and Vice-Chair.

Please do think about joining us and helping to run our beautiful hall which we are so lucky to have. New members are always very welcome!

Village Hall Committee

CONSULTATION – South Newington proposed 20mph Speed Limits

Oxfordshire County Council wants to make our built environments safer and more attractive places to walk and cycle. To enable this, 20mph speed restrictions are being used to help promote alternative modes of transport for local travel. Further details on how the council is considering making 20mph the new 30mph for Oxfordshire communities can be found here.

We’re therefore asking for your views on the proposal to introduce a 20mph speed limit throughout South Newington, replacing the majority of the existing 30mph speed limit in the process. Sections of existing 30mph speed limit will remain in place at the northern & southern ends of the A361 leading out of the village and on the Wigginton Road, with Officers having taken the current road environment & traffic usage into account.

The proposals are being put forward following road safety concerns raised by the parish, and form part of a countywide programme of works that seeks to deliver ‘a safer place with a safer pace’ for the residents of Oxfordshire. In light of this, please find the following consultation documents attached:

The proposed Traffic Regulation Order is scheduled to be advertised in the Banbury Guardian newspaper today; Thursday 20th July 2023, and details are also available to view on the Councils consultation portal at the address below:

As stated on the notice, any objections or other representations on the proposal should be submitted by Friday 11th August 2023.

Kind Regards,


(Mr) Christian Mauz
Senior Officer (TRO and Schemes)

Email: [email protected]

Network Management|Highways & Operations|Environment & Place

Oxfordshire County Council|County Hall|New Road|Oxford|OX1 1ND